Trying new things: Manna Church Cliffdale

I promised my Facebook fans that I would write a post on my visit to Manna Church yesterday. It’s actually the first time I’ve gone to a church in Fayetteville and I’ve lived here for over five years. The thought of going to a church where I don’t know anyone always made me extremely anxious, so I avoided it. Thankfully, my friend Kristy and her family were there, so I didn’t have to go it alone.

First things first: Manna is a “mega” church. Not like Joyce Meyer or Joel Osteen mega, but big for Fayetteville standards. There are five locations in Cumberland County and they also post sermons online. I’m used to a little country church with about 50-60 people in attendance on any given Sunday. I’m also used to one service. Some locations of Manna have three services on Sunday with service on Thursday as well.

The child care program is huge at the Cliffdale location. The staff registered the kids, took pictures of them,  and then put my cell number into a system to page me if one of the kids needed me. (I ended up getting paged for Justin. Apparently all of the babies started crying and mine was the only one that wouldn’t stop.)

The music was AMAZING. I love music.  I can think of a song to go along with just about any moment in my life. The live music had everyone dancing and worshiping. Completely different than anything I’ve ever experienced. It. Was. Awesome.

I think the only thing I didn’t really like was that the message from the pastor was recorded. The best I can figure is that it is recorded at the Thursday service and played for all five locations on Sunday. This wouldn’t keep me from going back, but it just felt a little weird to me.

One of the locations is actually closer to my home so I am thinking about trying there this weekend. I think it’ll be smaller and more to my liking.

I really want to find a church home. I miss that connection with people and being involved.

Where do you go to church? Leave a comment below or send me a tweet: @Ofwjaimie

Leave a Reply

