“Say Goodbye to Survival Mode” 7-Day Challenge (Days 6 & 7)

I’m so proud of myself, y’all. The fact that I’ve stuck with and completed this challenge shows me that I can get out of survival mode. Before I get into what I’ve learned about myself (and what I failed at), here are the last two days of the challenge:

Day 6 (Sunday)- Find an accountability partner, someone to keep you on task and on track.

My first thought was to ask my husband, but considering he isn’t home half of the year and then on the rig 12 hours a day when he is there, I don’t think he would remember to ask me if I wrote that blog post or got in a workout. I’ll be really honest with y’all: I don’t feel comfortable having an accountability partner. This is my journey and I don’t have any friends that are doing the same. I would feel like a burden asking my already busy friends to badger me about working out and staying on task with my blog and homework.

I’m not saying I won’t decide to get a partner, I’m just saying I don’t have one at the moment.

Day 7 (Monday)- Make a list of things that I love to do. After the list is complete, go back and circle one thing that I can (and will) do today.

This challenge is designed to be a reward for making it through the challenge. We can’t always be organizing, cleaning, cooking, etc. We have to take time for ourselves! Here is the list I came up with:

  • Read
  • Write
  • Crochet
  • Spend time with the kids
  • Watch romantic movies (I’m such a sap)

The great thing about my list is that I’m already writing and I get to spend time with my kids every day. Last night Ashley and I painted wooden ornaments that I picked up from Wal-Mart. We had so much fun that we went back and picked up a few more to do tonight. I wait until Justin is in bed so that Ashley and I can have one-on-one time.

1474426_660108969844_517729886_n

I’ll let you decide who painted which ornament. 😉

I mention earlier that I failed and something and that was getting up early. I did get up before 7 two mornings in a row, but so did my son. I’m telling you, it’s like he can sense when my feet hit the floor. I can’t exercise or do anything really with Justin walking (Yes, I said walking!) around the house. I think that buying a used pack-n-play might be very helpful in this circumstance and I plan to talk to JR about it once he gets home from this current hitch. Even though I haven’t done well with rising early I have no intentions of giving up.

All in all, I really enjoyed the challenge. I feel like each activity was just the right length; just enough to get you engaged but not too much to bog you down. I’ve learned so much from reading the book (I’ll post a little more about that when I get finished in the next few days) and this challenge. If you haven’t signed up yet, what are you waiting for? Go take the “Say Goodbye to Survival Mode” 7-Day Challenge. I seriously doubt you will regret it. 🙂

Are you taking the challenge? Let me know what you think and how you are doing by commenting below or sending me a tweet

3 thoughts on ““Say Goodbye to Survival Mode” 7-Day Challenge (Days 6 & 7)

  1. I totally get not feeling comfortable having an accountability partner. I have a challenge I’m doing (very half assing it) and one of the things is basically the same thing. And I tried it before with Kelly and it didn’t work very well. :-/

  2. Totally agreed about babes waking up because you’re up–happens to me every day! Sometimes I stay in bed, just lying there, so they’ll (hopefully) sleep longer!

    Glad the challenge was a success for you; I think I’ll start it sometime after Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

